Skip to navigation
Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Resources for: Current Students | Alumni & Friends | Faculty
College of Human Environmental Sciences


Advanced Placement (AP) credit can be utilized to meet General Education requirements. In Architectural Studies, students generally select American History or Government, Calculus, English, or Physics. Students seeking AP Art credit for 2-D design or drawing are encouraged to consult with department faculty to determine whether the AP Art portfolio demonstrates mastery of skills necessary for the professional program portfolio application.

Other AP credit could also be used for elective credit and credit towards a Minor. Credit will be awarded based on the scores posted here.

The Department of Architectural Studies welcomes transfer students from other undergraduate programs and community colleges to its undergraduate program. General education credits and transfers can be reviewed online. Faculty will review original portfolio work for determination of credits and transfers for design coursework taken at another school. Architectural Studies has developed agreements with community colleges as described below.

MU Architectural Studies Cooperates with Moberly Area Community College:

A new transfer partnership is arranged leading to bachelor’s degree professional programs in interior design and architectural studies. The 4-Year Plans below map out the sequence of courses and the objectives met to benefit transfer students.

View 4-Year Plans:

MU Architectural Studies Cooperates with St Louis Community College:

Acceptance to the Interior Design professional design sequence is based on design work and academic achievement in the three specified courses: ArchSt1200 Drafting (3 cr), Art 1050 Drawing (3 cr), and ArchSt1100 Visual Design (two-dimensional design) (3 cr).

Read more

The Architectural Studies undergraduate program prepares students for application to graduate school. Some alumni are admitted with graduate teaching assistantships to the MU Architectural Studies Masters and doctoral program. Alumni are also admitted to many other highly ranked graduate programs throughout the U.S. Graduate program recruiters from the University of Kansas and Washington University are invited to visit with students during the fall semester to discuss their M Arch program. Because curriculum, program offerings, and requirements change, students interested in graduate schools are encouraged to keep in communication with the institutions where they intend to apply.

MU Architectural Studies Cooperates with the University of Kansas M Arch Program with Reciprocity Agreement:

  • Admission based on GPA, letters of recommendation, portfolio review and interview.
  • Includes a study abroad requirement.
  • MArch completed in 2 calendar years (based on portfolio & GPA).
  • Out-of-state tuition waived for Missouri residents when enrolled in MArch program as a first professional architecture degree.
  • Questions about the program? Contact Admissions Secretary in the School of Architecture, Design & Planning, University of Kansas, Marvin Hall, Lawrence, KS 66045, (785) 864-3167 or check the web site at

Students at the Missouri University of Science and Technology (MS&T) campus take the online course ArchSt4430 Guiding Design with Historic Preservation (3 cr)

  • Architecture Research Centers Consortium (ARCC)
  • Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)
  • Council of Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) for interior design program
  • SEC Deans of Architecture

Each semester nationally recognized speakers address a department-wide audience with advisory board and practicing professionals from the community. They also participate in mock interviews and student critiques of thesis projects. Two endowments from generous donors support the speaker series:

Year Sponsor Speaker
2018 Williams Jessica and Aaron Senne of Studio Lark, St Louis
2017 Healy Bob Blaha of HOK, St Louis
2017 Williams Tracy Stearns of HOK, Kansas City
2016 Williams James L. Cutler of Cutler Anderson Architects, Idaho
2016 Healy Laura Hartman of Ferneau & Hartman Architects, Inc., Berkeley, CA
2015 Williams Charles Rose of Charles Rose Architects, MA
2015 Healy Bill Zahner of Zahner Company, KC
2014 Williams Ron Rochon of Miller Hull Partnership, Seattle
2014 Healy Jon Otis of Pratt Institute, NY
2013 HES Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi author on creativity including Flow
2013 Healy Andrew Herdeg of Lake/Flato, TX
2012 Williams Marlon Blackwell of Marlon Blackwell Architects, Fayetteville, AR
2012 Healy Dan Maginn and David Dowell of el dorado, KC
2011 Williams Sarah Susanka author of Not So Big House series, Raleigh, NC
2011 Healy *Antoine Predock of Andrew Predock Architect, NM
2010 Williams Loukas Kalisperis of Penn State
2010 Healy Bernard J Cywinski of Bohlin, Cywinski, Jackson, PA
2009 Williams James P. Cramer of Greenway Group, Inc and DesignIntelligence, CO
2009 Healy Alan Maskin of Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects, Seattle
2008 Williams Taryn Mead of Biomimicry Guild, CO
2007 Williams *Bob Berkebile of BNIM, KC
2006 Exec Res Carolyn Miller of AI, Chicago
2006 Williams Peter B MacKeith of Washington University, KC
2005 Exec Res Bob Blaha of HOK, St. Louis
2004 Exec Res Linda Loewenstein, Lawrence Group StL
2004 Exec Res John Eyler & Stracy Stearns of Heilein Schrock Stearns Architecture + Design of KC
2003 Exec Res Michelle O’Toole, O’Toole Design Associates, StL
2002 Exec Res Bob Simmons and Carol Napper designers give tour of MU Cornell Hall
2001 Exec Res Gregory E. Blackburn, Principal, Anshen + Allen, San Francisco
2001 Exec Res Ron Kemnitzer, Designer of Bola Chair
2000 Exec Res Saleh Uddin, MU new professor in design communications and digital media
1999 Exec Res Fred Schmidt of The Environments Group, Chicago
1998 Exec Res Paul Brayton of Brayton Designs and Brayton International Furniture, NC
1998 Exec Res Suzonna Moore, GSA - Capitol Hill Interior Design, Wash DC
1997 Exec Res Diann Hillix, Project Manager, Real Estate Division of Sprint, KC
1997 Exec Res Stephanie Graham of HNTB, KC

Exec Res: Executive in Residence 1997 - 2006

HES: HES Margaret Mangel Lectureship, Department, & Mizzou Advantage 2013

Williams: Carol Ann Williams Lecture in Design Endowment 2006 - date

Healy: Marcia Wehrle Healy and Robert N. Healy Interior Design & Architecture Lecture Endowment 2009-date

Stay in touch! Your faculty are interested in staying in touch with you. We involve alumni and friends in student critiques and more activities. We also send department updates and job offerings by email. Send us your news, email address, and any name change.

Chuck Graham, Jim DeJong, John Wodatch, Robin Jones

Chuck Graham, Jim DeJong, John Wodatch, Robin Jones. Witnesses at original ADA signing

Dr. D'souza, Dr. Balakrishnan and others

Faculty visit HOK alumni in KC

© Copyright 2020 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer. Disability Resources. Published by the College of Human Environmental Sciences.